Parish Council Elections – 2014

The deadline for nominations for the 11 councillor positions ended on 24th April 2014. Only 9 names had been submitted so this means the election was uncontested and residents of the Parish will not need to vote for their parish councillors on the 22nd May. You will still need to vote for your European and District Government representative.

As from the 26th May the parish councillors will be:

Tony Bates; Tom Bennett; Arlene Duncanson; Laurie Fairhurst; Brenda House; Simon Munnings; Robin Pitcher; Ian Ventham and Peter Wharf.

This leaves us 2 councillors short and means we are able to co-opt on to the council. This is open to anyone who wishes to put their name forward. The qualifications for standing are:

1. You must be at least 18 years old on the day you submit your name

2. You must be a British citizen, an eligible Commonwealth citizen or a citizen of any other member state of the European Union.

3. You must must be registered as a local government elector for the parish OR you must have occupied as owner or tenant any land or other premises in the parish during the whole of the 12 months before the day of your submission OR your main or only place of work during the 12 months prior to the day of submission has been in the parish OR you have lived in the parish or within 3 miles of it during the whole of the 12 months prior to your submission.

If you would like to put your name forward, or have any queries regarding how you go about doing so, please contact the Clerk on 01929 472327 or e-mail